Miika Hyytiäinen: Voice is Voices

Voice is Voices is a sound installation opera about voices and identities for four coloratura sopranos, cello, viola da gamba and electronics. It tells the story of how within a sound, many different personalities, truths, and lies can be found. It explores how we construct an image of someone based on their voice. Simultaneously, the piece serves as a laboratory, a meticulously designed testing situation, and a crucible where diverse sounds encounter each other in a new and surprising manner.

Premiere Feel Helsinki Festival, Music Hall, Helsinki, 2020
Further performances Helsinki Contemprary Opera Festival, 2022

Work group:
Miika Hyytiäinen, composition & concept
Henriikka Tavi, libretto
Maija Turunen, sound master
Kajsa Dahlbäck, soprano
Annika Fuhrmann, soprano
Marika Hölttä, soprano
Kaisa Ranta, soprano
Louna Hosia, viola da gamba
Pinja Nuñes, cello
Merja Ritola ja Emma Kuntsi, producer

osa VII: Voices of Gender

Various perspectives on gender engage in a discussion about change. The text is based on interviews with transgender opera singers.
Annika Fuhmann, voice
Pinja Nuñez, cello